Homework

Hello parents,

I am a firm believer in not giving homework or assignments outside of school unless it is meaningful. I do not want to send your child home with busy work, and therefore am not sending home a standard assignment nightly. If I feel that your child may need extra help at home with a particular skill, I will contact you and send home a practice sheet at that time.

Sometimes my students ask me if they can take home the math homework from the book, and I always say yes. It is up to them if they want to practice at home. Many do, and I encourage it. Some of my kids are pulling the homework out of the book and completing it during class in addition to their assignments! 🙂

I am always willing to accommodate you though. If you would like to see work sent home please contact me and we can work something out. It’s my expectation that if you are wanting your child to have extra practice that you are monitoring and helping them with it.

That being said, the best way to help your child at home is to encourage them to read nightly. Have a conversation with them about the book they are reading. Talk to them about the book club we are starting here in our class and discuss the different “extracurricular” assignments with them. With regard to math, help them memorize their math facts, addition and subtraction, by using flashcards. I cannot recommend it enough that your child know their math facts and have them memorized. It will make second grade so much easier if they can recall their facts automatically.

If you need a set of flashcards, please let me know.

Thank you so much! If you have any questions, please email or text me on Remind.

